How to Block Someone on Facebook
What Does a Facebook Block Do?
Blocking a person on Facebook means they’ll no longer be able to see your profile, what you post on your timeline, or contact you through Facebook. Also, if you’re friends with them on Facebook, doing this will automatically unfriend them. So, if that’s what you want to achieve, here’s how to block someone on Facebook:
- Go to the question mark symbol at the top right of your Facebook page.
- Click on “Privacy Shortcuts.
- Now, click on “How do I stop someone from bothering me?”
- Type in the name of the person, and click “Block.”
- Choose the person from the results list and click “Block” again.
Another way of blocking a Facebook user is to go to their profile, click on the “…” menu, and click “Block.”
When blocking someone on Facebook, you don’t need to worry about them finding out – they won’t be notified.
Can You Unblock Someone on Facebook?
Yes – here’s how to do it:
- Click on the question mark symbol at the top right of your Facebook tab.
- Click on “Privacy Shortcuts,” and then on “How do I stop someone from bothering me?”
- Next, click on “View All Blocked Users,” and hit “Unblock” next to the name of the person you want to unblock.
Just keep in mind that when you unblock someone, they won’t be automatically added to your Friends list. You’ll have to send them a Friend Request again.
Is It Possible to Block Messages on Facebook?
Yes, although if you block messages from someone without blocking their profile, you’ll still be able to see their Facebook account, and they’ll be able to see your account too. With that out of the way, here’s how to block Facebook messages from someone:
- Click on the Messenger icon at the top right of your Facebook page, and open up the conversation with the person you want to block.
- Click the “Settings” icon (it’s the one that looks like a little cogwheel in the top right of the chat box).
- Click on “Block Messages,” and confirm the decision.
Does Unfriending Someone Do the Same Thing as Blocking Them?
No – if you unfriend a person on Facebook, they will be removed from your Friends list (and you’ll be removed from their Friends list as well). This won’t notify the person in question. You’ll still be able to send them a Friend Request in the future, and they’ll be able to do the same.
The person you have unfriended will also be able to view your Facebook timeline and activity, unless your privacy settings say otherwise. If you don’t want somebody to be fully able to view your profile at all, you’ll have to block them on Facebook.
Other Things Worth Mentioning
If you don’t want to block someone, but don’t want to see their posts in your News Feed, you can unfollow them (doable by hovering over the “Following” button on their profile, and choosing “Unfollow”). You can also limit someone’s ability to see your own posts (as well as the posts you’re tagged in).
Furthermore, you can use Facebook’s “Take a Break” feature as well – here is the link for it. Just type in the person’s name, and edit your preferences accordingly. If you click on “Edit Who Can See Past Posts”, and then on “Edit all my posts and posts I’m tagged in”, Facebook will automatically:
- Untag you in posts made by other people you and the person in question were tagged in.
- Untag you in posts the user tagged you before.
- Change the privacy settings of your posts in which you tagged said user.
You can also add the person in question to a Restricted List. That means you’ll stay friends with them on Facebook, but they’ll only be able to see your posts when you set their Audience to Public.
To do that, go to the user’s profile, hover over the “Friends” status, click “Add to another list,” and then click on “Restricted.”
Also, we should mention that if you change your relationship status, you no longer need to worry about people seeing it on their News Feeds. It will only show up when you change the status to “In a Relationship.” Of course, if you want to limit that too, you can do so through your account’s privacy settings.