How to disable and clear off Autofill in Google Chrome?

Google has taken its safety standards to a new level. Any Google communication and publication tool you use such as Google Drive, Gmail, Google Sheets, Google Docs, Google Earth and many more are completely safe and secured as they are encrypted by “Google’s Safety Centre.” Google’s safety office has a team of expert software developers and professional anti-hacking experts work with Family Security Online and Internet Keep Safe Coalition to keep the user’s data secure. Google’s Project Zero is getting stronger day by day in tracking vulnerabilities. Tavis Ormandy fixed a problem in March 2017. Another problem was fixed in January 2018. Hackerstarget Autofills to gather the information. So it poses a great threat to chrome users and it should be disabled. Before discussing the details of the process to disable Autofill, its imperative to know
  • What Autofill is all about?
  • How does it work?

The Autofill feature of Google Chrome lets users save their personal details though an Autofill feature. The facility helps applicants to fill up online forms faster and work easier day by day. Moreover this daily busy schedule, people don’t have time to sit with ID cards and other details each and every time they fill up a form. Thus, Autofill does this in no time. When applicants fill up a new form for the first time using chrome browser, they will be asked to “Save” those details. Passwords and usernames will be entered automatically as they are saved. So someone forgets passwords or usernames, autofill can be used to fill them automatically. So you need not to remember multiple passwords for different accounts.

  1. In the PC or laptop open Google chrome.
  2. Click on “Settings” on the topmost right corner of the page.
  3. Under setting, tab click on the “Advanced” menu.
  4. Inside the Advanced menu click on the “Passwords and Forms” option and enable the “Autofill settings”.
  5. Here any detail can be added and if the above option is enabled then chrome will automatically ask to save details and passwords.
  6. These saved details are used while filling up forms or signing in to accounts.

Now readers might think that if Google and VPN are so secure then why it is evident to clear off and disable the Autofill feature. But truth is that despite of such securing systems, hacking occurs every now and then. Recent past has witnessed eBay and Uber breaches. Even Gmail and Facebook accounts are no safer from hacking. So safety is necessary.

No doubt Autofill has its own advantages. But the benefits are nothing when compared with the probable threats that come due to this feature. Personal details like credit card, PAN card, House address and passwords to important accounts are very sensitive and can be misused in a number of ways if falls into wrong hands. If a person’s Google account is hacked or laptop is stolen then all his confidential information is leaked to an unknown person. All the personal messages in Gmail and other Google services will get compromised. The details when fall into the hands of a hacker can lead to blackmailing. So getting into trouble is evident if personal details are saved in the Autofill feature. So, it is imperative to turn off or clear off Autofill in Google.

Instructions to clear all the data from Autofill for Google Chrome:-

  1. Go to Google Chrome and click on the Chrome Menu option [indicated by three lines on the topmost right-hand corner]
  2. Select the “Tools” option inside the chrome menu.
  3. Click on “Clear Browsing Data”
  4. To clear all the information saved and stored in Google Chrome, make sure to select “the Beginning of time” option.
  5. Also do not forget to select the option “Clear saved Autofill form data” so that all Autofill saved data is cleared.
  6. Then finally select Clear Browsing Data to clear all data.

Instructions to turn off Autofill for Google Chrome:-

  1. Go to Google Chrome and click on the Chrome Menu option [indicated by three lines on the topmost right-hand corner]
  2. Go to the “Settings Menu”.
  3. Inside the Settings Menu, at the bottom of the page, you will find “Show Advanced Menu” option. Select it.
  4. Go to the “Passwords and Forms” menu
  5. Then uncheck the “Enable Autofill to fill out web forms in a single click”.

A Complete gamer and a Tech Geek. Brings out all her thoughts and Love in Writing Techie blogs.