How to deactivate or delete your Snapchat account?

How to deactivate or delete your Snapchat account

Why should you even consider deleting such a popular app?

‘Snapchat’ was launched in 2011 and what started from there has gained massive popularity to make it one of the most used apps amongst millennials.

Whether it is the filters or the fact that you could record your daily life with a snap, Snapchat is a user-friendly solution to let out what your day looks like.

But despite this, there has been a case where now multiple millenials have deleted or have decided to never turn back to using Snapchat again. The number has been listed but many of the users have decided to live the ‘real’ life more.

If you are one of them, you don’t have to think twice about ending your engagement with such an app. Yes, social media is what millenials breathe today, but with constant issues, the most famous being data retrieval without permission seems to put off many users to even get on social media.

Imagine how would it be when your information is being passed on to the strangers whom you have no idea about? Snapchat has mentioned the use of your information in their Privacy policies, ‘’In some cases, we use your information for legal purposes. For example, when unlawful content is posted on Snapchat or another one of our services, we may need to enforce our Terms of Service and other policies. In some cases, we may also use or share your information to cooperate with law enforcement requests or comply with our legal obligations.‘’

Today even a small mistake online can cause you a heavy loss, don’t let this happen to you.

If you’ve decided that you want to step back from Snapchat, this article will guide you through that.

Let’s begin. 

How to deactivate or delete your Snapchat account?

If you are requesting the deactivation or deletion of your Snapchat account via your computer/desktop, all you need to do is:

1 . Head to the ‘Account’ section, Enter in the login details and select ‘Delete my account’

snapchat account

Source: NordVpn


2. It will then ask you to enter in your username and password for the Snapchat account you want to delete

delete account

Source: NordVpn


3. After you enter the details, hit the ‘Continue’ option below

account deactivated

Source: NordVpn

If you are requesting the deactivation or deletion of your Snapchat account via your iPhone device or Android device, all you need to do is:

  • Go to your Snapchat App
  • Enter your login details
  • Click on your image icon

delete snapchap

Source: NordVpn


4. On the top right-hand corner, you will find a gear icon, click on it

delete your Snapchat account

Source: NordVpn


5. Head to the ‘Support’ category and choose the ‘Help Center’ option

delete your Snapchat account

Source: NordVpn


6. Then click on ‘My account and security’, hit the category of ‘Account information’ and finally choose the ‘Delete my account’ option

delete your Snapchat account

Source: NordVpn


7. Hit the ‘Account portal’ and conduct the same steps which were explained in the computer/desktop solution

Keynote 1: Once the above actions are completed, ensure that you don’t log in to the app for the next 30 days. If you accomplish that, your Snapchat account will be deleted permanently. 

Keynote 2: However, if you happen to change your mind about the deletion or deactivation of your Snapchat account, in a period of 30 days from your request, you can log in with the same username and password. The reactivation of your account can take up to 24 hours.

In Conclusion…

Snapchat shares your information and this is a huge problem

Refrain from apps that directly share your information without your knowledge. 

To conduct more research on such topics, watch this space

And search for VPN industry’s leading providers.

A Complete gamer and a Tech Geek. Brings out all her thoughts and love in writing blogs on IOT, software, technology etc